Nominations being sought for 2017 FSHN Alumni Impact Award

The Department of Food Science and Human Nutrition (FSHN) is accepting nominations for the seventh annual FSHN Alumni Impact Award.

“Each year we recognize FSHN alums who are making a difference,” said Ruth MacDonald, professor and chair. “It’s great to have them return to campus to receive the award and have a chance to interact with current faculty, staff and students.”

Up to three FSHN alumni are chosen to receive the award each year, based on the impacts they have made in their profession and/or community. To be eligible, candidates must be five years post-degree from ISU.

Selected award winners are invited back to campus during Homecoming (Oct. 28 -29, 2017) for activities with current students and faculty, including a department tailgate prior to the Iowa State Homecoming football game. Also that weekend, a banquet takes place, during which the awards are presented to the alumni.

Details about the 2017 FSHN Alumni Impact Awards, including eligibility requirements, can be found on the nomination form. The deadline for submitting applications is April 1, 2017.

Please direct inquiries and completed nomination packets to Whitney Sager, 515-294-9166, wjsager@iastate.edu.

Previous winners include:


Andrew McPherson, Linda Snetselaar, Mary Wagner


Charlotte Hayes, Justin Kanthak, Julie Simonson


Barbara Harland, Rodrigo Tarte, Jill Zullo


Jill Moline, Mary Shell, Kris Spence


Linda Fullmer, Lori Roth-Yousey


Nancy Degner, Simin Meydani, Justin Moore